#FIRSTWORLDPROBLEMS

I was actually on Twitter this morning and I saw a post that got me to stop and think about everything I’ve done and everything people in my generation have done. It was a status update about this person heading to the States and if they didn’t get what they wanted, they would be crying the whole way back. This made me realize how much I’ve yet to learn. People generally have bad connotations when it comes to my generation. And I don’t completely disagree. For one thing, I know I’ve acted like a spoiled brat more often than I’d really like to admit. I know that and I’m working on being better.

 

And this is where the hashtag #firstworldproblems comes into play. Anyone who’s ever been on Twitter knows that a lot of teenagers and young adults tend to post many #firstworldproblems tweets, whether they have that hashtag or not. Look it up and see for yourself. It’s okay, I’ll be here while you wait. 

Did you see? This is what I’ve realized and yes, I may be young but it doesn’t mean I don’t pay attention. I’ve seen enough to notice how bad things are for those of us with these problems. I’m generalizing here, but we don’t pay attention to how bad many other people have it. We live beyond our means and we complain about it. Yes, the newest gadget looks really cool and you’d really like to have it, but do you actually need it? Do you need to spend so much on it? Do you really need to spend all that money on booze, trinkets, clothes, etc. on things you most likely won’t even use in a year’s time? Probably not. 

And if you’re some of the people I know, do you really need to be judging the homeless? I’m sure you know that they have issues themselves and it’s unfair to you to say such derogatory things because of it. Did you ever spend the time talking to one just to see how their day is? Probably not, but that’s okay. You don’t have to.

To the teenagers out there. Did you ever think about how hard your parent(s) work just to give you what you need? What about what you want? As a teenager myself, only for about a year and a few months to go, I know I haven’t in the past. But I’ve thought about it now. It’s hard to give kids what they want and provide for what they need if their wants are much more expensive and much more “immediate” than their needs. Think about that for a minute before you continue. 

I was talking to my mom and sister earlier today and we came across the topic of racism. I won’t really explain how it relates to my family, but what I can say is that I’ve noticed it in people. Whether they mean to be or not. Just because a person’s skin colour isn’t white, or even the same as yours, doesn’t mean that they’re any different from you. So why treat them as such? 

 

There’s a lot more I can say about all these #firstworldproblems but I won’t. I don’t need to sound preachy and I don’t need to point all of them out to you. I never intended to in the first place. I just want it to get you thinking and if I happen to help someone realize that all these first world problems mean nothing in reality, then I know I’ve done the right thing. 

It may sound like an impossible dream, but I just want the world to be a better place. Is that too much to ask? 

Leave a Reply

