Waters of forgetfulness

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to forget all the bad stuff that happened to you? I do sometimes but not as much as before. I used to think it would be amazing to forget it all, until I read this novel called Before I go to Sleep, S.J. Watson’s début novel. It’s about this woman named Christine who losses her memory every time she went to sleep. It’s a novel that kept me invested in its characters and it made me keep reading until I got to the very last word.

So what if you lost your memories every night before you went to sleep? Or even if you lost them forever? Would you be happy about it? What would you do?

I know if I lost my memories I wouldn’t be who I am today because the good and the bad experiences helped mould me into this hard-headed, dedicated, hard-working daydreamer I am today. I treasure every second I have and continue to experience because it makes me be the way I am. I used to wish hard that I would forget, but as I’ve grown older, I’ve realized that every moment I’ve experienced is something worth remembering because it means you’ve gone through the roller coaster that is life.

But that’s just me. What do you think? Tell me in the comments! I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

